Oceanography and Scientific Data (OSD)

Providing Access to Ocean Data

OSD's mandate is to manage and archive ocean data collected by DFO, or acquired through national and international programmes conducted in ocean areas adjacent to Canada, and to disseminate data, data products, and services to the marine community in accordance with the policies of the Department.

The Oceanography and Scientific Data (OSD) was formed in 2006 from the merging of two groups: the Marine Environmental Data Service (MEDS) and the Engineering Development and Geomatics Service of the Canadian Hydrographic Service (CHS), both of Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO).

MEDS had been established in 1969 to coordinate the Canadian Wave Climate Study. It was significantly enlarged in 1973, when the Tides and Water Levels Section of the Canadian Hydrographic Service and the Canadian Oceanographic Data Centre (established in 1962) were incorporated into it.

Data Management, Archival and Dissemination

Data management, archival and dissemination of physical oceanographic data and data products on national and international scales is still a key component of OSD mandate, however it has since been broadened to include chemical and biological oceanography.

The Canadian primary area of interest is 35 to 90 degrees North latitude and 40 to 180 degrees West longitude but for some specialized data types and programmes the area of interest is global. Real-time, near real-time or historical data are made available as appropriate.

Physical, chemical and biological data collected by the Department of Fisheries and Oceans are today managed by a distributed system of archive centres within DFO.

Policy, Standards, and Responsibilities

Policy, standards, and responsibilities are developed by a National Data Management Committee (NDM) chaired by OSD with members from all DFO regions that collect the data.

The NDM was formed in 1997 to provide advice on the scientific data management issues, and to develop and implement short and long-term goals for data management for the Science Sector of DFO. The working group was also mandated to coordinate and standardize processing, archival, and access procedures and policies for these data. OSD and the regional centres thus provide coordinated data, data products and services to the marine community.

Requests for data, data products and additional information may be made online by completing the Data Request Form

Océanographie et données scientifiques (ODS)

Accès aux données sur les océans

Il a pour mandat de gérer et de conserver en archives les données océaniques recueillies par le MPO ou obtenues dans le cadre de programmes de recherche nationaux et internationaux exécutés dans des zones océaniques situées à proximité du Canada, de diffuser des données et d'offrir des produits de données et des services à la collectivité marine en respectant les politiques du Ministère.

Le groupe de Océanographie et données scientifiques (ODS) a été fondé en 2006 lors de la fusion de deux groupes de Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO): le Service de données du milieu marin (SDMM) et le Service de développment d'ingénierie et de géomatique du Service hydrographique du Canada (SHC).

Le SDMM avait été établi en 1969 afin de coordonner l'étude canadienne sur les vagues, et son mandat avait été élargi lorsque la section de Marées et niveaux d'eau du Service hydrographique du Canada et le Centre canadien de données océanographiques (formé en 1962) s'y étaient rattachés en 1973.

La gestion, l’archivage et la diffusion de données

La gestion, l’archivage et la diffusion de données et de produits de données océanographiques à l’échelle nationale et internationale constituent toujours les activités de base du ODS. Cependant, le mandat du ODS s’est élargi depuis sa fondation pour inclure l’océanographie chimique et biologique.

Au Canada, la zone qui intéresse principalement le ODS est comprise entre 35 et 90 degrés de latitude Nord et 40 et 180 degrés de longitude Ouest. Or, la zone d’intérêt est plus grande pour certains programmes et certains types de données spécialisées. La plupart des données sont disponibles en temps réel ou quasi réel pour les clients qui s’en servent à des fins opérationnelles.

Les données physiques, chimiques et biologiques recueillies par le ministère des Pêches et des Océans sont gérées par un réseau de centres d’archivage qui relèvent de la Direction générale des sciences halieutiques et océaniques du MPO.

Politiques, normes et responsabilités

Les politiques, normes et responsabilités du ODS sont établies par le Comité de gestion des données (CGD), qui est présidé par le ODS et composé de membres des centres de cueillette de données régionaux du MPO. Le ODS et les centres régionaux offrent ainsi des données, des produits de données et des services coordonnés à la collectivité marine

Il est possible de demander des données, des produits de données et des renseignements supplémentaires en ligne en remplissant le Formulaire de commande.