Details

Normal SST Field

We present a climatological field of daily sea-surface temperature (SST) for eastern Canadian waters (40-52º N and 40-75º W) with a spatial resolution of 0.175º (~13.6 km east-west and ~19.5 km north-south).

The field was generated using the results of a three-terms harmonic analysis performed on NOAA-JPL's AVHRR weekly global 18km MCSST (Miami) dataset, using data from 1981 to 2000.

At a given location, we define the normal SST as the sum of the mean SST and the amplitudes of the annual, semi-annual (6 months) and triannual (4 months) harmonics of SST, whose phases are determined by the time of the year. The time and space dependent SST field is thus defined as follows (T):

t Time coordinate
x,y Spatial coordinates
A0 Mean SST
A1, A2, A3 SST Annual, semiannual and triannual harmonic amplitudes
ϕ1, ϕ2, ϕ3 SST Annual, semiannual and triannual harmonic phases
ω(fundamental frequency) π/365 d

The analysis was conducted at the Bedford Institute of Oceanography. (For details: Ouellet, M., B. Petrie and J. Chassé. 2003. Temporal and spatial scales of sea-surface temperature variability in Canadian Atlantic waters. Can. Tech. Rep. Hydrogr. Ocean Sci. 228: v + 30 p).

Date modified:

Détails

Champ de TSM normale

Ce champ climatologique de température de la surface de la mer (TSM) journalière dans les eaux Atlantiques canadiennes (40-52º N et 40-75º O) possède une résolution spatiale de 0.175º (~13.6 km est-ouest et ~19.5 km nord-sud).

Le champ a été généré a partir des résultats d'une analyse harmonique à trois termes effectuée sur l'ensemble de données du NOAA-JPL intitulé AVHRR weekly global 18km MCSST (Miami), utilisant les données des années 1981 à 2000.

À un endroit précis, la TSM normale est définie comme étant la somme de la TSM moyenne et des amplitudes annuelle, semi-annuelle (6 mois) et tri-annuelle (4 mois) de la TSM, dont la phase est déterminée par la période de l'année. Le champ spatio-temporel de TSM est ainsi défini comme suit (T):

t Coordonnée temporelle
x,y Coordonnées spatiales
A0 TSM moyenne
A1, A2, A3 Amplitude des harmoniques annuelle, semi-annuelle et tri-annuelle
ϕ1, ϕ2, ϕ3 Phase des harmoniques annuelle, semi-annuelle et tri-annuelle
ω(fundamental frequency) 2π/365 j

L'analyse fut effectuée à l'Institut Océanographique Bedford. (Pour de plus amples renseignements, consulter (anglais seulement): Ouellet, M., B. Petrie and J. Chassé. 2003. Temporal and spatial scales of sea-surface temperature variability in Canadian Atlantic waters. Can. Tech. Rep. Hydrogr. Ocean Sci. 228: v + 30 p).

Date de modification :